Verses to live by:
Samuel 22:3-4
Psalm 4:8
Psalm 18:30
Psalm 31:20
Psalm 32:7
Psalm 36:7
Psalm 91:1-16
Psalm 138:7
Proverbs 30:5

Last week my friend phoned and I missed her call. I’ve been having trouble with my cellphone and only received a voice message. I called back and her first words were, “Did you feel that?”

I didn’t have a clue what she was talking about and she told me we had an earthquake of 5.5. I was shocked. It was felt all over our country and people were in shock. My husband and I were on the road when it happened (that’s why we didn’t really take note). We stopped at a red light and we felt the vehicle shaking.
We thought there was something wrong with the vehicle. But it stopped moments later and we looked at each other and just left it at that.

After she phoned I called my mom to make sure they were okay. She said that the house trembled and things fell down. The corner wall in the living room also cracked from top to bottom. But they were safe. My children felt it at school but weren’t alarmed. Blessed be that their teachers kept them calm.

When things happen out of our control we tend to turn and run. That is what my friend and her family did when they felt their whole house shaking. They ran outside because they weren’t sure of how bad the house would get and that it would be safer out on the open. Praise God they are all safe as well as the rest of my family and friends, I am eternally grateful.

In moments like these I know that the only safe place is outside.

But what about His presence? It’s the only safe place you will ever be. And when things go wrong as they sometimes do He will never let you down. He is your fortress. Proverbs 18:10 NIV says: The name of the Lord is a strong tower the righteous man runs into it and is safe

We are safe by His side and in His hand. Sleep well, knowing that He watches over you and loves you!!

With love always
Zaskia
Living by faith, with hope, for love, in grace…

