Do not sin!!!

Mark 8:36 What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul?

When words come from my mouth that hurt in anger it is like a poison. I feel sick to my stomach that those words came from me. What is in my heart if I use these words so carelessly? The words I speak sickens me… And the words I speak do not just injure others, but it feels like a knife being twisted in my stomach, over and over… Even when I say them softly behind your back it burns me to my core… And it saddens me, I escape to my bedroom where I want to feel safe, where I want to pray and where I spill my heart to God.

Psalm 4:4 NIV Tremble and do not sin; when you are on your beds, search your hearts and be silent

And I am silent, because I feel like I have disappointed you my God once again… My heart is aching and I need You, so much more of You..

The Word of God tells us clearly that we should not sin when we get angry. We as children of our Papa in heaven do get angry. All human beings have that emotion. We are easily angered, aggravated and then we take the next step…

Ephesians 4:26a NIV “In your anger do not sin.”
The Word cautions us to not sin when we get angry. Knowing that we may get angry makes it a little easier, but trying not to explode when you’re angry, that is a different challenge. So what is a sin when you get angry?

Well, the Word continues saying…

Ephesians 4:26b-27 NIV Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry. And do not give the devil a foothold.

And the way for satan to get a foothold is when you give way to your anger.

Ephesians 4:29-30 continues… 29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with any form of malice.

So, in anger you brawl, slander and seek malice.. which in turn makes you bitter… raging and even more angry inside. Which in turn gives you another few words to just throw in there for the heck of it. And then? You sadden the Holy Spirit!!!

I know this might sound harsh but it s so true. We are all human and we fall short of the glory of God. And we sin, even in anger…

My prayer for you is:

Dear God, I pray that you will forgive me when I anger. Please place a guard over my mouth that I will not sin in those times. That I will live for you and only you. That my sinful nature will not take over, but that your Holy Spirit that resides in me will take over and let me be who I was born to be. A child of God living for His glory. In Jesus name I pray, with love and much thanksgiving. Amen.

If you would like to share what angers you or what anger you are battling with leave a comment or send me an e-mail so that I can pray with you for whatever it is you are angry about. My e-mail address is zaskia77@ovi.com

Living by faith, with hope, for love, in grace…

With love always
Zaskia

