I sat on my bed last night, feeling exhausted and my heart weighed heavily. It was a horrible feeling in the gut of my stomach that tore at me, bringing tears to my eyes. Why is being a mom such a tough job? Why does it hurt so much? God help me!!

Psalm 147:3 He heals the broken in heart, and binds up their wounds.

I gave my son a spanking today. Oh and he cried his little heart out and I had to be the strong one, the responsible mama who knew what she was doing.

You see it all started with something he wanted to do himself. Now before I tell you what happened keep this in mind. I have told him so many times that if he needed help he should ask. That is why God gave him a mouth. And he should never use a sharp knife unless a grownup is there to supervise.

So, I bought a 5 litre box of juice. Its one of those that you open the tap and you can pour from it. But the tap needs to get out of the box first. All you do is pull the cardboard away and the tap is revealed. Then you pull it out and voila you have juice on tap.

I had to return to the shop because as a mama with so many things on my mind I forgot a few things. My daughter jumped into the car with me and we drove off.

I left him with hubby because I was sure he would handle him. So my son wanted to help himself to juice, bit he didn’t know how it worked. Not being sure of how to open the box he took a sharp knife and tried it his way. Ending in disaster he punctured the bag with the knife. The juice now coming through the hole he made, making a big mess on the floor.

Just as I stopped at home he was crying and seemed in despair. His dad angrily summoning him to my side telling him to sort it out with me. So I listened carefully.

When he told me what happened I was infuriated because he knows the rules. If that knife slipped he could have injured himself BADLY. I sent him to my room. He is only 7 and his actions were irresponsible. He had to know it. So I walked in and gave him a spanking. I think it hurt his pride more than it hurt his bum. Now to top that punishment I sent him to his room.

I TOOK A DEEP BREATH AND SWALLOWED THE TEARS!!!

Mama’s heart is aching!!

A few minutes later I walked to his room and there he was curled up under his blankets. Tears rolling down his cheeks, oh I felt like a bad mama!!! But if I think of what could have happened, if that knife slipped. “Oh God, thank you for keeping Him safe” He knew he was wrong.

The word of God heeds us to take note.

2nd Timothy 3:16-17 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

At times I feel like I’m doing things all wrong. But I know that if I go back to scripture I will know if what I’m doing is out of line. I know that the punishment I gave him was the right one.

I JUST PRAY THAT GOD WOULD HELP ME.

Because at times like these my heart aches. Seeing him sad or hurt, makes me sad and hurt. And only my Papa knows how to fix me up again. I just have to make the time to sit at His feet and cry my heart out.

I told him to sit up. I explained what could have happened and how I didn’t want him hurt. I loved him too much. I pulled him closer and just held him, kissing him on his tear-filled cheeks. Feeling his heartache beating in mine. I held him and he cried and hugged me back. He understood why!! Oh how much I love this little man.

These scriptures written by the wise king Solomon in the book of proverbs gave comfort and helped sooth my weary soul.

Proverbs 13:24 He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him.

Proverbs 22:15 Folly is bound up in the heart of a child, but the rod of discipline will drive it far from him.

Proverbs 19:18 Discipline your son, for in that there is hope; do not be a willing party to his death.

Proverbs 29:15 The rod of correction imparts wisdom, but a child left to himself disgraces his
mother.

Proverbs 23:13-14 Do not withhold discipline from a child; if you punish him with the rod, he will not die. Punish him with the rod and save his soul from death.

Proverbs 22:6 Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

Proverbs 29:17 Discipline your son, and he will give you peace; he will bring delight to your soul.

Oh God, I am so grateful for scripture. Though this mama’s heart is still hurting, her Papa is right there listening.

TAKE HEART, THAT NO MATTER WHAT YOU ARE GOING THOUGH TODAY OR ANY DAY, THERE IS A SCRIPTURE ESPECIALLY FOR YOU.

All you have to do is open the word of God and pray. He will guide you.

With love always
Zaskia

