This Week everyone seems to be focusing on love. So I thought id add a little something about love every day. Maybe a photo or two, or maybe just to say something close to what’s on my heart.

Yesterday I called both my great Danes closer just to see how tall they have gotten.
I see them every day, but haven’t seemed to take much note on their growth. And wow, on their back legs they are taller than me. Gee wizz… now I understand why some people cross the road when I open the gate. Hahahaha. But none the less, they have so much love to give. My husband took a few photos. And were they heavy, I almost didn’t stay up. They both wanted my attention and affection. They’re so much like children.

That reminded me of a verse in scripture: Mark 10:15-16 I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.

If we as humans were more like children I’m sure wed get along more often. Think about it for a moment. Parent’s fights last much longer than children’s. They forgive easily and play together again. How come we don’t?

When you fight with your dog about them maybe digging a hole or eating your favourite shirt they don’t stay mad at you. They come to you and wait for a pat on the head and love you just the same. They are always happy to see you and want all of your attention no matter what mood you’re in. And they would protect you no matter the cost.

Our children are much the same. Even though you scold them they still come and give you a hug and tell you how much they love you. Even at your worst they love you. I remember when my son was little id just wake up and look really bad. He would cup my face in his hands and tell me how pretty he thought I was. Oh, the love of ones child.

I bought my daughter a chocolate and a fortune cookie dipped in chocolate. Now you have to understand that she looooooves chocolate (my daughter). So I left it on her bed. I told her that I put it there and she checked but decided to eat it later, after supper. When she went back it was all gone, except for the wrapping. She was so furious and cried her heart out.

Cloe our Maltese poodle helped herself to the chocolates. And she yelled at Cloe, crying. Cloe just jumped on her lap licking her as if to say she was sorry. My daughter was still mad but couldn’t stay angry at Cloe because of the love she has for her ( Cloe apparently now also looooves chocolate).

And the love of my children is even more of a blessing. This past weekend I took a black bag and started sorting my son’s room. I’ve left it for too long for him to do it and now it’s a big mess. I scolded him and told him that if I didn’t know better id think a piggy stayed in his room. He was sad and instead of leaving the room he started to help me. Yes I kept scolding in-between the mess of trying to sort the things but he stayed attentive to what I was doing.

My daughter also jumped in to help. That was quite a surprise because she’s not fond of helping out her brother. There’s a 7 year difference so you can imagine just how much they can get on one another’s nerves. But my daughter is not lazy and helps out more than she has to at times. My son on the other hand will find an excuse not to help. But here they were, both helping me.

After the cleanup my son wrapped his arms around me and thanked me for cleaning his room. That just dissolved the tension between us and I hugged him back. Just to hold him takes away all of the anger and frustration. I was happy to know that he appreciated the work we did together and that it was a team effort.

And believe it or not my children actually played together (must be because his room is sorted) without any argument between them.

What a blessing they are to me. And then it got to me. We as parents tent to scold our children. We have reason. But how many times do we actually take the time out to bless them. Read the scripture again…

Mark 10:15-16 I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.

PRAYER:

Papa God, help me to bless my children more than the times I scold them. Let your Love shine in my life. Help me not to stay mad but help me to love those who push my buttons instead. Let me become like a little child in your presence so I can learn to love you more. In Jesus name I pray, with love and much thanksgiving. Amen.

THOUGHT FOR TODAY:

Be like a little child. Forgive others, and instead of holding onto anger just love that person instead. Be a blessing.

With Love always
Zaskia

