What does it mean to be humble?

The dictionary describes it as:
Conscious in ones failings
Unpretentious; lowly
Deferential or servile (have no idea what this means!!)
To cause to become humble; humiliate
To lower in status
Not proud or arrogant; modest
Low in importance, status, or condition
Courteously respectful
Insignificant; inferior; submissive
To lower in condition, importance, or dignity
To destroy the independence or will of; subdue
To make meek

Wow, that certainly makes you sit up and take note. If that’s being humble, I’m not even close. I have to admit, I can be pretty stubborn. And I don’t like to be submissive especially when I think I’m not the one in the wrong. This is really going to be tough!!

James 4:6
But he gives more grace. Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”

“Oh God, please work on me being humble. You are the potter, I am the clay. Mould me and make me, after your will.”

So, yesterday I told you about my car being sold and how sad I was. And then I got a replacement. A really, really ugly car (to be honest, id rather get my pumpkin carriage back.”. But I need to be humble so I’m taking it to heart that there is a better plan out there and then the plan hits me smack bang in my face. So just bare with me for a moment.

As parents we try to give our children the things we never had. And we try to teach them to appreciate the things they do have. But they don’t always. And if I think about my childhood I remember how I appreciated the things I got, and how I worked towards something if I really wanted it. I would save up for a year or more with birthday money and pocket money to buy something I had my eye on. Do we teach our children the value of money? Do they appreciate what they have?

I think we live in a society that demands us to have more of the things we want and not what we need. Our children have the tendency to pick up on these things watching TV. “Oooh, I want that, I want, I want…” what about those in need?

Thessalonians 5:18 ESV
Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

So yesterday we had a bit of a discussion about the car we would be driving. And to my amazement this is the response I got. ‘Really, do we have to drive in this? I hope you’re not going to drop us off at school in this? I’ll much rather walk.” I was in shock. My daughter has become a little diva. What have I been teaching her?

And I realized that this would become a valuable lesson for them. So my husband said we were going out for “vetkoek” and we were driving in the car she didn’t like. “Really?? Do we have to ride in this? I hope no one I know sees me in this piece of junk! This is so embarrassing.”

That was the words pouring out of my daughter’s mouth. And I got this tingle in my stomach. Actually I enjoyed seeing her being humbled a bit. I know that must sound mean, but I think sometimes when God looks down at us teaching us He must also get a little tingle knowing we are learning another valuable lesson. And He knows it will do us good.

Then I just couldn’t help it so I said. “Honey, I’m going to drop you off in front of school, right at the gate and I will be waving and yelling, bye sweetheart enjoy your day.” The look I got was priceless. And in her mumbling voice I could hear “this is so embarrassing.”

My husband and I both looked at each other and laughed. She of course was not impressed with us at all.

Thought for today:

Be happy with what you have, most people only dream about it. You are blessed enough to have it.

Prayer:

Papa God, thank you for the things we have. Help us to be grateful instead of complaining. And please make us humble, we really do need to be more like You. Thank you for Your mercy and Your grace. With much love and thanksgiving we pray. In Jesus name. Amen

(Not a really good quality photo that I took with my phone, but I have to admit this photo, absolutely priceless!!”)

Psalm 118:1-18
Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever! Let Israel say, “His steadfast love endures forever.” Let the house of Aaron say, “His steadfast love endures forever.” Let those who fear the Lord say, “His steadfast love endures forever.” Out of my distress I called on the Lord; the Lord answered me and set me free.

With love always
Zaskia

