I had to get up early this morning because I forgot to buy bread yesterday. I promised my children that I would make muffins instead, which my kids love because they don’t like having bread for school that much. Haha.

Then I just couldn’t get out of bed this morning. Pushing it.. and I mean really pushing it, I woke up at 6. Made muffins and jumped in the shower. Checked the time and saw I’m not late just yet. We have to leave at 6H45 to get them to school so that I can get to work on time.

Anyway, so then my muffins got stuck in the pan. And yes, I sprayed it well. Which took a bit more time to get them out. And I kept checking the time in between to make sure we leave when we should. Pushing the limits..

So were all happy and get in the car at 6H45 and then my son absent mindedly slams the car door shut and my cute baby starts crying. He shut the door of the car on her paw. Cloe is a maltese poodle (and a part of the family). She is very inquisitive and puts her head and paws in everywhere. Especially the toilet. Although she can’t reach she tries to check things out anyway. Lol.

Back to my story…

Anyway so frantically I yelled at my son to open the door. And he just has this blank look on his face. I yelled at him again (now paranoid) to open the door which he did, after a moment of catching his thoughts. My daughter (hysterical at this point) picked Cloe up and they kept crying (the dog and my daughter). I have 2 big great danes and they came running to see what the fuss was all about. Which upset the 2 girls even more (my daughter and the dog).

And then they wanted to push their noses in where Cloe was hidden in my daughter’s arms. I took Cloe from her and tried calming her. It was a battle, she kept crying and so did my daughter. I got her to calm down after a few minutes. I put her in the house and closed the door. Leaving her. Not because I wanted to but because I had to. We were late!!

So on our way to school I gave my son a lecture about how he should check before he gets into the car. And then gave him an earful because he hadn’t put his school bag in the boot. He’s supposed to do that before he gets in the car. Probably the reason he never saw her at the door. Oh, we were all upset. My son sitting with a sad face and my daughter with tears running down her cheeks. And me? With my heart aching for the both of them because I could see how upset they were and as for Cloe who probably was still at home licking her wounded paw..

I told them both that it was an accident and that her brother would never hurt her intentionally. But nothing seemed to help. They got out of the car and I hugged them and told them I loved them and that everything was okay. But the heaviness on my heart just sat there while I drove off. I felt saddened for them and for Cloe. I couldn’t just kiss them and make all things better like I used to when they were little.

The reason I’m telling you this is because we as children of God tend to do the same thing. We absent mindedly do things without thinking of the consequences. We tend to put our feet and head into a big messy toilet or car door because of curiosity. And when we do that were heading for trouble. Big trouble.

Oh I know of so many people that did something just once and got hooked or into trouble. And because of their bad choice they got hurt. But this hurt isn’t just on the outside. It’s on the inside too. You can read so many stories in scripture, it’s almost everywhere.

Think about David for a moment. He was a man after Gods own heart and yet he made bad choices. Showing us that he is also human in every way. His bad choices made him covet his neighbours wife, having an affair with her which bore him a child, killing her husband and ultimately losing their child to death..

And, did God love him any less?

No!!

2nd Samuel 12:16 – 24

16David pleaded with God for the child. He fasted and went into his house and spent the nights lying on the ground.
17The elders of his household stood beside him to get him up from the ground, but he refused, and he would not eat any food with them.
18On the seventh day the child died. David’s servants were afraid to tell him that the child was dead, for they thought, “While the child was still living, we spoke to David but he would not listen to us. How can we tell him the child is dead? He may do something desperate.”
19David noticed that his servants were whispering among themselves and he realized the child was dead. “Is the child dead?” he asked. “Yes,” they replied, “he is dead.”
20Then David got up from the ground. After he had washed, put on lotions and changed his clothes, he went into the house of the Lord and worshiped. Then he went to his own house, and at his request they served him food, and he ate.
21His servants asked him, “Why are you acting this way? While the child was alive, you fasted and wept, but now that the child is dead, you get up and eat!”
22He answered, “While the child was still alive, I fasted and wept. I thought, ‘Who knows? The Lord may be gracious to me and let the child live.’
23But now that he is dead, why should I fast? Can I bring him back again? I will go to him, but he will not return to me.”
24Then David comforted his wife Bathsheba, and he went to her and lay with her. She gave birth to a son, and they named him Solomon. The Lord loved him;

He lay on his stomach not eating or drinking. He cried out to the Lord and confessed his sins. When he repented for what he did, God forgave him. And see in verse 24. David comforts his wife. His mistake. But God is a God of forgiveness. She is called David’s wife. And the blessing continues when she bears Solomon whom the Lord loves.

God can turn our mistakes into life lessons if we repent. He can use your hurt to His glory. If you are willing to give all your heartache to Him. If you are willing for Him to write the story to your life and not the way you want it to be. Oh our God is faithful. His Grace is never ending. And His mercy is new every morning. I am so grateful for that every day.
Lamentations 3:20-25

Today my prayer for you is that God will use your hurt and your mistakes to ultimately glorify His name… All you have to do is let Him in!!

With love always
Zaskia

