07.01.2014 – Tuesday

Today I got out of bed easier than yesterday. But this headache doesn’t seem to want to leave me. After being at the gym for half an hour my head felt like it wanted to explode. Throbbing ferociously I left the gym. Seriously, what’s up with that?

So I went home. Got back in bed and just held my hubby until he got up. I didn’t feel like getting out of bed. Let alone go to work… eugh… work!!! Not today please.

So, I had a shower (in ice cold water, needless to say) because the water didn’t get warm. And later I realised I never opened the warm tap. Akward!! Let alone a really blonde moment!! So I left for work just to realise the girl that was going to come in late was never going to show up. It was hectic trying to get everything done in time. But the day went along and I had a lot of reasons to smile. One of them being.. I love my family. And I’m so blessed to have them in my life.

Then when I got home I was looking forward to my hubby coming home. Just to find out he was spending the night in Kathu. He didn’t finish his rounds early enough. Firstly he didn’t leave Kimberley early enough.. so now I’m home alone… and I have no idea what to do with myself.

I wanted to get upset but knew that this was a time for me to catch up on things I don’t get to do. And seeing as I haven’t written a post for today this would be the perfect time. So I got to thinking…

I started a topic with my children last night before they went to bed. PRAYER!! I never thought about it before but I realised just how little they knew about prayer. And I think as grownups we take prayer for granted. When things go wrong we throw a prayer up to heaven for God to help us. But when things are going good?? Do we even thank God? I’m learning to be grateful even in the little things in life. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m learning. And God is guiding me each step of the way.

Like earlier this week. It’s been really humid and the heat didn’t break until God sent us some drops of rain. It was such a blessing and I got so excited and thanked God. I told my children we should spend each day thanking God even when people thought we were crazy as long as we love God and what God is doing for us. They get what I mean. Even though I come across as silly sometimes..

We tend to over think what we are going to pray about, the words we are going to use. If we should stand, kneel or lay down. Whether our eyes should be closed or our hands should be crossed. What we should pray about? I believe God never meant for it to be complicated when we pray. After all God knows what we need before we even ask it from Him. And he knows what we are going to say before we do.

I think as long as it comes from the heart and you are honest and sincere it doesn’t matter how or where you talk to Him. Just as long as you do. Jesus was an example of how to pray to God. He made time alone. Withdrew to a quiet place and spoke to God. Not just His Dad. But His very best friend. That is what He should be to us too and how we should be… Make time for our maker. Not because we have to but because we desire to have more of Him and less of us…

I leave you with these verses tonight… Food for thought..

Philippians 4:6, Romans 12:12, Matthew 6:5-15, Isaiah 30:19, 1 John 5:14-15, Deuteronomy 7:9, Mark 11:24-25, Matthew 7:7, Matthew 18:19-20, Matthew 6:8, Acts 1:13-14, 1 Peter 5:6-7

Leaving you in prayer and thanksgiving in Jesus name. Amen!!

With love always
Zaskia

